Exposure exercises with virtual reality

Virtual Reality allows to practice the dealing with anxiety triggering situations in a protected environment. Through confrontation with anxiety in virtual reality, patients can experience in the course of therapy that the feared consequences do not occur and that they can deal with their fear. The effectiveness of anxiety exposure in virtual reality, also known as Virtual Reality Exposure Therapy (VRET), has already been demonstrated in a large number of studies (see publications). The safety of VRET has also been investigated in a study published in the Journal of Anxiety Disorders. The authors show that worsening of symptoms with a VRET is less frequent than with a placebo group and side effects are rare. The S3 guideline for the treatment of anxiety disorders › recommends exposure exercises in virtual reality for the treatment of specific phobias when in vivo exposure is not available or possible. A selection of treatment facilities that already use virtual reality and a selection of available virtual situations (exposure scenarios) are listed below

Exposure Scenarios

Fear Of Heights

People with fear of heights can practice dealing with height situations during an exposure in virtual reality. Despite negative feelings (e.g. fear, dizziness, insecurity, feelings of anxiety), people are able to move safely through the elevation situations (i.e. without losing their footing or falling). Through this experience people with fear of heights learn how to deal with height situations and develop a self-efficacy when searching for new height situations.

Fear Of Flying

When suffering from fear of flying, flights are completely avoided or only survived under great fear. Fear of flying therapy in virtual reality offers the possibility to practice dealing with negative feelings (e.g. palpitations, sweating) and thoughts (e.g. plane crash) before and during a flight. During the confrontation therapy it is learned that automatically occurring negative reactions to fear of flying are no sign that something will happen during a flight.

Animal Phobia – Birds

Animal phobia is a specific phobia that refers to living beings. Here the affected person suffers from the fear of the respective animal, although he has learned that the animal is harmless. Symptoms range from mild discomfort to panic. A typical symptom of animal phobia is fear of expectations and avoidance as a coping strategy. With virtual reality there is the possibility to recreate frightening situations and living beings and to gradually reduce fear by careful exposure.

Therapie mit Virtueller Realität (Konfrontations- und Verhaltensübungen)

Virtuelle Realität erlaubt es, den Umgang mit angstauslösenden Situationen in einem geschützten Rahmen zu üben. Durch Angst-Konfrontation in virtueller Realität können Patienten im Rahmen einer Therapie die Erfahrung machen, dass gefürchtete Konsequenzen nicht eintreten und sie mit ihrer Angst umgehen können. Die Wirksamkeit der Angstexposition in virtueller Realität, auch Virtual Reality Exposure Therapy (VRET) genannt, konnte bereits in einer Vielzahl an Studien gezeigt werden  (siehe Publikationen). Auch die Sicherheit der VRET wurde u.a. in einer im Journal of Anxiety Disorders veröffentlichten Studie untersucht. Die Autoren zeigen, dass Verschlechterungen der Symptomatik durch eine VRET weniger häufig auftreten als bei einer Placebogruppe und Nebenwirkungen selten sind. Die S3-Leitlinie zur Behandlung von Angststörungen ›› empfiehlt für die Behandlung von spezifischen Phobien Expositionsübungen in virtueller Realität,  wenn eine in-vivo Exposition nicht verfügbar oder möglich ist. Eine Auswahl von Behandlungseinrichtungen, welche bereits virtuelle Realität einsetzen, sowie eine Auswahl verfügbarer virtueller Situationen (Expositionsszenarien) finden Sie nachfolgend gelistet.

Expositionsszenarien

Höhenangst

Personen mit Höhenangst können bei einer Exposition in virtueller Realität den Umgang mit Höhensituationen üben. Trotz auftretender negativer Gefühle (z. B. Angst, Schwindel, Unsicherheit, Beklemmungsgefühle) sind Personen in der Lage, sich sicher durch die Höhensituationen zu bewegen (d. h. ohne den Halt zu verlieren oder zu stürzen). Durch diese Erfahrung lernen Personen mit Höhenangst den Umgang mit Höhensituationen und entwickeln eine Selbstwirksamkeit beim Aufsuchen neuer Höhensituationen.

Flugangst

Bei bestehender Flugangst werden Flüge komplett vermieden oder nur unter großer Angst durchgestanden. Flugangsttherapie in virtueller Realität bietet die Möglichkeit den Umgang mit negativen Gefühlen (z. B. Herzrasen, Schwitzen) und Gedanken (z. B. Flugzeugabsturz) vor und während eines Flugs zu üben. Bei der Konfrontationstherapie wird gelernt, dass automatisch auftretende negative Reaktionen bei Flugangst kein Zeichen dafür sind, dass während eines Flugs etwas passieren wird.

Tierphobien – Vögel

Tierphobie ist eine spezifische Phobie, die sich auf Lebewesen bezieht. Hierbei leidet der Betroffene unter der Angst vor dem jeweiligen Tier, obwohl er gelernt hat, dass das Tier ungefährlich ist. Symptome reichen hier von leichtem Unbehagen bis zu panischer Angst. Typisch bei Tierphobie sind die Erwartungsangst und die Vermeidung als Bewältigungsstrategie. Mit virtueller Realität besteht die Möglichkeit angsteinflößende Situationen und Lebewesen nachzustellen und schrittweise durch behutsame Exposition die Angst zu verringern.